I have made these pancakes for many of my friends. I have received compliments such as “these are the best pancakes I have ever had!” Therefore, I feel justified in calling these “The Best Pancakes Ever!”

The first homemade, from scratch pancake recipe I ever made was Nigella Lawson’s “American Breakfast Pancakes.” They turned out about a million times better than the pancakes from a box mix that I was accustomed to, I could never go back! I tried a few other recipes, but kept coming back to Nigella’s- she is after all, The Domestic Goddess. The recipe has evolved significantly, but I feel I still must give credit to Nigella for being the rudiments of my recipe. I think the only things that are the same now are the baking powder amount, the egg, and, the butter. I add cinnamon (of course, what don’t I add it to?!), vanilla, baking soda, replace the milk with rice milk (I used to do buttermilk when I could have dairy), and I substitute  half  of the all-purpose flour for whole wheat flour. As I stated in my pumpkin pancake recipe, I think subbing half of the AP flour for WW makes pancakes heartier, more flavorful, and more filling, not to mention healthier!

Towards the end of my pregnancy I became obsessed with pancakes and started making them multiple times a week. Ever since then I have considered myself a pancake connoisseur. They are my thing. I need to open a pancake house! I wonder if I could run it out of my kitchen…. Ok, head out of clouds…. I usually added blueberries and/or chocolate chips to them. But, these pancakes are great as is or with any of your favorite mix-ins. Recently, I have been on a banana kick. The wonderful thing about adding bananas to the pancakes is that they sizzle while cooking on the skillet, causing the bananas to caramelize. Oh my, it is a wonderful thing. So delicious. But, I do not discriminate against any kind of fruit in my pancakes. “One could no sooner pick a favorite star in the heavens!” (quoting Danielle in “Ever After”)

The Best Pancakes Ever

¾ cup unbleached all-purpose flour
¾ cup whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
½ teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 egg
1 1/3 cups milk, rice milk, buttermilk, whatever you prefer!
2  tablespoons melted butter

Optional- Bananas sliced into coins or your favorite pancake mix-in

Melt butter in a small bowl and allow to cool for a few minutes. Meanwhile, whisk all dry ingredients together. Next, I make a little valley in the middle of the dry ingredients and dump in all of the wet ingredients and mix (I still use a whisk). Do not overmix! Slightly lumpy is ok!

Poor some of the batter onto a skillet over medium/low heat and spread out a little with a spoon or the whisk . Place your mix-in on top of pancake batter. Cook until pancake is bubbly all over. Flip over with a spatula and cook for another minute or two.

Serve however you like them, syrup, whipped cream, honey, the possibilities are endless!

