In a week’s time I have made pumpkin bread, pumpkin spice syrup, and pumpkin pancakes. Oh, and I was still raring to go, but darn Trader Joe’s was out of their wonderful organic canned pumpkin. Now, I know I could have gone in search of a sugar pumpkin and make my own puree, but although I love DIYing in the kitchen, I just don’t want to add another thing to my to-do list right now! So, sadly my pumpkin creations are at a stand still.

Meanwhile, let me share this recipe for Pumpkin Pancakes. I made these for my friend the other day when she came over for breakfast and her review was that they are “better than a restaurant.” They are definitely perfect on a fall morning. Not only is the flavor clearly in line with the season, but they turn out a beautiful rusty orange color.

I must admit, I did not get a good photo of the pancakes. I was so hungry and anxious to eat them that by the time they were done I honestly just did not have the patience to take lots of photos. However, I am compelled to share the recipe because they are just so good! If you like pumpkin bread and you like pancakes, you will love these! I am also excited, because the recipe is my own. You may now call me Breakfast Queen 🙂 You can lower your guilt, because they are half whole wheat flour. I think whole wheat makes pancakes heartier and more filling, but I like to keep some all-purpose flour in the recipe to keep the pancakes fluffy. If you are a boxed pancake mix person, just stop right now. Once you make homemade you will never go back.  Homemade pancakes have more flavor, are thicker, and fluffier. And, guess what! It took me a maximum of 5 minutes to put this batter together!

Pumpkin Pancakes

  • ¾ cup plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • ¾  cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • ½  teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup milk (I used rice milk)
  • ¾  cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil

Directions

In a large bowl whisk together dry ingredients. In a separate bowl whisk together wet ingredients. Gently fold wet ingredients into the dry. Do not overmix, pancakes turn out dense and tough if you overmix!

Heat butter on a griddle or frying pan over low/medium heat. Pour batter on hot griddle. When pancake begins to bubble all over use a spatula to flip (about 2-3 minutes). Cook the other side for only a minute or so.

Serve anyway you like! I prefer REAL maple syrup and butter (well, Earth Balance Spread for now!)

Mmm… pumpkin love.