This recipe was shared with me by another mom who is dairy-free for her baby and also happens to be a vegetarian! We email eachother yummy recipes that fit our dietary needs. Thanks Katherine! As soon as I saw chickpeas in the title I was all over it. They are definitely my favorite bean! And roasted vegetables…. mmmm. Roasting vegetables is a huge flavor enhancer. They get sweeter from the the high temperature baking, and they get a nice golden brown exterior which is equally aeshetically pleasing as it is delicious.

Something you may start to notice is that I tend to eat pretty healthy when it comes to lunch and dinner,  and totally indulge when it comes to dessert. Breakfast goes both ways depending on the day. Well my friends, balance is very important! If you are an active person and eat well you can afford to indulge here and there. I honestly eat something sugary and sweet everyday, but not all day everyday and my meals are very healthy. I also take long walks with my little Buggie almost everyday. Balance! I like to eat healthy and am very interested in nutrition, but I sure do appreciate a good cookie, cupcake, or muffin!

Anyway, this is one of those tasty, but healthy meals that in my opinion makes it okay that I ate two brownies the same day!

Couscous with Roasted Vegetables and Chickpeas
-Recipe by Marta Stewart

  • 1 pound carrots, sliced 3/4 inch thick on the diagonal
  • 1 head cauliflower (3 pounds), cored and cut into florets
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 1 cup whole-wheat couscous
  • 1 tablespoon lemon zest, plus 1/2 cup fresh lemon juice (from 3 lemons)
  • 1 can (15 ounces) chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 6 scallions, thinly sliced
  • 5 ounces baby arugula

Directions

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. In a large bowl toss carrots and cauliflower with cumin and 2 tablespoons of oil. Season with salt and pepper. Spread vegetables on a baking sheet (or 2 if need be). Set the bowl aside, you will use it again later. Roast veggies until browned and tender, 25-30 minutes, rotating sheets and tossing halfway through. Due to a fussy baby I did not toss nor did I let them get quite as brown as I would have liked! Cool to room temperature.

Meanwhile, in a small/medium saucepan, bring 1 1/4 cups salted water to a boil. Stir in couscous; cover and remove from heat. After 5 minutes take cover off and fluff with a fork; set aside to cool.
To make the dressing, whisk together the lemon zest and juice and remaining tablespoon oil; season with salt and pepper.

In the large bowl you tossed the veggies in, combine roasted vegetables with couscous, chickpeas, and scallions. Place arugula on a serving platter or bowl and drizzle with 1 tablespoon dressing. Add remaining dressing to couscous mixture, and toss; serve over or to the side of arugula.

Eat your veggies and feel good!

