So, I was planning on making my first post this week. The plan was to make Polish pancakes. I even wrote the post already. I picked up the ingredients yesterday. But, as one of my favorite sayings explains, “Humans plan, God laughs.” And so God made it National Waffle Day today! Well, maybe God didn’t do that, but you know what I mean. Uh oh, first blog post and I am doing what my dad says not to do during the first conversation with someone “you don’t talk about religion or politics.” But, if you’re going to get wet, you might as well go swimming (how many more sayings can I fit into one paragraph?), so let me just say that waffles are a HEAVENLY food, tee hee 🙂

This morning I had to throw my big plan for my first post out the window when I found out about this very important holiday. I just received my brand spanking new waffle iron yesterday. So, so exciting to my breakfast loving self. There I sat this morning perusing the internet for waffle recipes, while in the background I heard some Sprout characters (baby/toddler channel) singing “Happy Waffle Day!” I thought perhaps it was just a Sprout holiday, so I looked it up and to my joy, August 24th is indeed National Waffle Day. So serendipitous I thought that I had just received my new waffler, I am starting a breakfast themed blog, and it was Waffle Day! You can see why I had to scrap The Plan and make my first post about waffles.

I decided to go with a tried and true recipe for now, my slightly adapted version of Emeril Lagasse’s “Classic Belgian Waffles.” It is the first waffle recipe I ever used and it is yummy! It calls for a lot of bowls, but they are worth it! I also created a special topping of my own, which I highly suggest! So without further ado, here you go ladies and gentelemen, Cinnamon Belgian Waffles with Strawberry Banana Compote…

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles adapted from Emeril Lagasse

  • 2 cups cake flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 large eggs, separated
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1/2 tsp. – 1 tsp. cinnamon (to your liking)
  • non-stick cooking spray

Note: Currently, I am dairy free due to my baby’s milk protein intolerance. Therefore, I use rice milk and Earth Balance soy/dairy free spread, in place of milk and butter in all of my cooking and baking and you cannot even tell the difference!

Directions

In 1 medium bowl sift together flour, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Set aside. In a second bowl use a wooden spoon to beat together the egg yolks and sugar until sugar is completely dissolved and eggs have turned a pale yellow. Add the vanilla extract, melted butter, and milk to the eggs and whisk to combine. Combine the egg-milk mixture with the flour mixture and whisk just until blended. Do not over mix. In third bowl, beat the egg whites with an electric mixer until soft peaks form, about 1 minute. Using the rubber spatula, gently fold the egg whites into the waffle batter. Resist the urge to overmix.

Coat the waffle iron with non-stick cooking spray or brush on oil and pour 2/3 -3/4 cup of mix on the waffle iron. Close and cook until golden brown, my iron takes about 5 minutes to turn out perfect. While  the waffles are cooking away whip up this delicious topping…

Strawberry Banana Compote

  • 2 cups fresh or frozen strawberries (thawed)
  • 1 ripe banana, sliced
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • Splash of vanilla extract

Directions

Heat strawberries and sugar in small saucepan over medium heat. Stir occasionally.  Once strawberries have began to get hot and macerate mash them a bit with a fork. Once sauce is desired consistency add banana slices. Stir occasionally for a few minutes. Remove from heat and serve on top of waffles sprinkled with powdered sugar.

Enjoy! Happy Waffle Day!

